Content submitted by Unigranrio – Kaarina Barbosa Virkki
Submited Date : 23/10/2019

The “II TOURISM INNOVATION MEETING: INTERACTION BETWEEN ACADEMY, MARKET, PUBLIC SECTOR AND CIVIL SOCIETY”, designed by UNIGRANRIO Tourism Research Center, coordinated by Professor Deborah Moraes Zouain, aims to stimulate the interaction between the different actors in the field of tourism, so that innovation in the destination happens.

The event will be held on October 29, 2019, from 9a.m. to 5p.m., at the Museu Histórico Nacional, in Rio de Janeiro, with support and funding from FAPERJ, and will be attended by researchers, entrepreneurs, public managers and representatives of civil society.

Through the use of the Design Thinking methodology and thematic round tables, it will be possible to identify bottlenecks and propose solutions in the 4 main tourist areas of Rio de Janeiro: Downtown, Port Zone, South Zone and Barra da Tijuca, considering the different tourism segments. . Therefore, the event will seek to create a collaborative environment that enhances the knowledge of the participants involved and contributes to this post-Olympic period in the city of Rio de Janeiro .The event aims to contribute to the strengthening of business networks, as well as to the development of an innovation mindset, whether in the short, medium or long term, and is a driving force for co-creation and cooperation between different organizations. In an increasingly competitive world market, this relationship between academia and the market, the public sector and civil society becomes essential for the production of knowledge and scientific and technological development.
The event relates especially to the SDG 17 - Partnerships for the Goals - as well as SDG 9 Industry, Innovation & Infrastructure, when proposes that the articulation and participation of all actors involved in tourism development shall promote innovation and a sustainable growth to the sector. Farther, it is possible to relate the results aimed with the event to several SDGs, such as SDG8, SDG 10, SDG11 and SDG12.